This summer Paul and I decided we both needed a bit of a break, to stay fresh for the kids and to keep our sanity in tact. Sarah so generously has granted these longed for wishes and let us sail away for a week or three while we have our wonderful Renee with us this summer.

Paul has been gone for three weeks and will return next Monday. However, I am then due to take my leave for the following three weeks. And while I am eager to spend some home time with my family, this is something that I haven’t done in over four years and I’m getting a little bit nervous.

I’m not nervous about hanging with my family (although I probably should be.) I’m feeling quaky about leaving my other kids. I have only taken one day off this year and I can barely stand to be away from them (even when I can barely stand them!)

I was laying in bed last night and all I could think about was, what field trips will I miss while I’m gone – will they go somewhere fun without me and is that legal (in a moral sense of the word legal)?

So, I’m kind of joking here but only kind-of. I’m not sure I know how to step away from this world I’ve created with these children that are so much a part of me and my daily life.

Sheesh, I know, it’s only three weeks but what if someone learns how to do a back flip or becomes the next Jeopardy champion or moves to Alabama! while I’m spending some much needed down time.

I’ll be in and out of here, as I know, I know, I have some catching up to do! I can hear you all from your houses stammering under your breath, “Why isn’t Michelle putting photos of my kid on the blog – what does she have better to do?”

