On the last day of school before spring break, we decided to begin the day with journaling. Everyone set to it and at the large table as I walked around; everyone was drawing “battles”, which is one of the favorite things to draw in our classroom. We usually let the kid’s journal whatever they want but sometimes I want to shake things up a bit.

So, I requested that the kids draw their fantasy garden – what they would like to see in our garden as we begin to plant. I showed them the seeds I had already gotten and they set to work. Everyone took part and some incredible drawings were made. Some limes, oranges and Venus Fly Traps showed up – I did say fantasy didn’t I?

After the drawings were complete, we planted some seeds inside to watch them grow. When we get back, we are going to dig out the weeds and get our garden ready for peas and nasturtium.

Oh, spring!

