Every morning at circle this week, I think and say, “This is our last Monday/Tuesday etc. morning together in Blake Island.” I’m sentimental and will desperately miss the kids who will not be joining us in Marrowstone Island aka Mystery Bay. I’ve been listening closer, patting more heads and getting a last glimpse at our lives together these past few years.

 

Here are a couple of moments from today:

 

At circle this morning:

“Do you know that some of my parts are animal parts? A Snake and a hippo and a frog – my knee is the hippo, my nose is the frog and my sound is the snake, ssssssssssssssssss.”

 

Retold from a parent after watching a Huntington Learning Center commercial:

“Mom, I’m going to have to go there. I can’t even write my name like everyone else. Either that or I’m just going to have to get a job.”

 

As funny as this is, it is sad how much pressure kids feel to “achieve,” even when they aren’t pressured by their teachers or parents. I’m looking forward to a year of taking the pressure off, finding ways for kids to feel and be “successful” in our community and a year of looking at reading, writing and arithmetic in a different and more connected way – lesson #1 in writing: let’s make a giant letter M for Mystery Island in the woodchips in the big yard!

