Today was my first day working on the K-2 classroom. I’ve been a little in denial, not about the most amazing year we are about to enter, but about giving up my preschool classroom. I have put my everything into my preschool class. Two years ago I worked for two straight weeks painting, organizing, and decorating. It has been everything I have ever hoped teaching could be. It is so nice to not feel like I actually go to work everyday.

So today I ventured into the mint green walls of my new classroom. One of my current and “next year” parents, Kathleen (Brigit’s mom) is volunteering and taking my place in the classroom a couple of days a week for this month. The kids are all so interested – it’s like a big mystery. And in deed it is. Today I mostly stood in the classroom and tried to visualize my students and myself learning and growing in this space next year. I desperately want it to be the most organic and emergent environment possible. I keep thinking about it in terms of home schooling at school – if that is at all possible.

I have started with the creation of a “living room” for our living classroom. I want it to have the feel of a home and us as a family. So far I have a loveseat, one end table, a coffee (juice) table and a rug. I could really use another couch/loveseat, some lamps and anything “living room like.” Neve’s mom, Amy is giving me a comfy chair tomorrow.

Speaking of Neve; we have been discussing having Neve join us next year and today she came over to visit the class (I need a few students to help me with table/chair size) and she was so excited about the new classroom and I found out that Neve is now enrolled – YAY!!! I’m so happy to have her presence in the class.

I am planning our curriculum (sort of) for the next few months and Kathleen is helping me set up our trips to Daystar Retirement Village. We hope to visit every other Thursday and have lunch and make crafts together. I really would love for our kids to build relationships with their elders and to learn the ways in which we can come together as a community that helps each other.

I am so excited. I have so many ideas. This forum is for all of us. Please read and comment and send me ideas.

Peace and love.

“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has.” ~Margaret Mead

